Ask Old Jules

Old Jules, what’s your take on the state of democracy today?

Democracy was well on the way to being destroyed in this country before you were born, or I was born.  Here’s what I do to be happy with what’s left of democracy:

1] Avoid knowing national news [television, newspapers, magazines, radio ersatz]

2] Avoid knowing which party or professional politician is holding office at any given time.

3] Mentally shake my head and smile inside every time someone soapboxes about how or whether I should vote.

I joined the military at a time I believed the country was going to war with the intention of killing me some Russians to preserve democracy.  Instead the only people I ever shot at or got shot at by were a lot of scared GIs just like me mistakenly thinking one another were something we weren’t. Trying hard to kill one another.

In…

View original post 60 more words

Leave a Reply

